Encaustic Resource information

Information I have found useful in my research of the medium of encaustics. 
Books:
An Artists handbook   author Margaret Manning Krug 
Formulas for Painters Robert Massey
The Art of encaustic painting  Joanne Mattera
Encaustic Art  Michael Bossom
Encaustic Workshop: Artistic Techniques for working with wax  Patricia B. Seggebruch
Websites:
www.margaretKrug.com
www.encaustic.com
http://www.encaustic.ca/
http://www.monalisa-artmat.com/encaustic.htm for a FREE  link to your art website contact this site with your url address.  
Here is a list of the materials I have purchased and the approximate cost.
I purchased a travel iron $8.00, electric griddle  $15.00 at the salvation army.  I already had a crockpot, a large block of wax and oil paints. I purchased damar resin crystals at the art store for $10.59. substrates vary according to type and cost. One that I found that is reasonable and a relatively new media is magnesiacore http://www.magnesiacore.com/ a construction material that can be painted on in encaustic, watercolor, acrylic and oil. One all purpose substrate.  I purchased a soldering iron for $27.00 approx (too hot needed to buy a encaustic stylus instead) and a heat gun with a digital heat control for $89.00 at canadian tire. The name of the game is controlling your heating source. I took a trip up island to leapenhi paper and design in Courtenay BC canada and found a great selection of encaustic wax and supplies developed by Michael Bossom. I purchased the stylus for $62.95 and the 16 wax starter pkg for $29.95. The ladies running the store were wonderful and very helpful. The total costs were approximately $217.00. I am starting my owl project tommorrow and will post more info and pics.

Leave a Reply

