Art Tile – Concept to completion

Since the beginning of the year I have had an obsession with creating tile – artistic, creative, elegant, colorful and distinctly different from anything currently available. From my research I have noticed 3 major areas are lacking in today’s tile –  { figurative, large Accent tiles& expressive}. Accent tiles used to be decorative centre pieces in bathrooms and kitchens, with relief ,texture and figures. Sculptural Artwork has been replaced with basic patterns, shapes and colors.
Pistrucci Artworks main goal is to produce a wide variety of bas relief accent tiles from contemporary to figurative offering distinctive flair with color and texture. Jeremy Hileman took the concept Pikaso Kichen and created an expressive colorful line of tile for the contemporary kitchen. Here is the results of our next tile line titled ‘ Pikaso Kichen’.

To view the catalog go here: art-tile-catalog-pikaso-kichen

First the concept drawings were designed and a rought draft completed [see below] :

 

Then the sculpting of the relief tiles:

 Glaze tests

Old world stain

& more glaze tests….

”]

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

2 comments on “Art Tile – Concept to completion

  1. apron says:

    I’m glad that I’ve found this pistrucciartworks.wordpress.com web site. I don’t have much to add to the conversation, but I’m right there with you. This post said exactly what I have been thinking. Good to see you posting.

  2. I?d must check with you here. Which isn’t something I usually do! I take pleasure in reading a publish that may make people think. Additionally, thanks for allowing me to comment!

Leave a Reply

